Blogging 101: Say Hello to the Neighbors

Today’s assignment: Today’s assignment: follow five new topics in the Reader and five new blogs.

I currently have one topic that I am following on the reader, which is “Blogging 101.” I chose the following five topics to follow and I picked one blog from each topic – someone that I just followed today, and not someone I’m already following (Just a disclaimer to my current followers!):

Relationships
iamcharlies

Inspiration
i wrote in blood

Beauty
Broke Beauty Blogger On A Budget

Book Reviews
The Night Owl’s Guide to Reading

Cooking
Earthen Love

Relationships: everyone has such different perspectives on relationships: what works and what doesn’t work. I wanted to follow this topic to read about how other couples handle obstacles in their lives. Don’t get me wrong, I adore Joshua (my bf) and us two are the only ones who know how to deal with each other, but, as weird as it sounds, I like reading about this stuff. And not even in the sense of I’m looking for advice, but fresh perspectives are the best to read.

Inspiration: we all need a little pick me up from time to time, so why not look to the inspirational blogs? I love reading inspirational quotes and stories online.

Beauty: I feel like I am a terrible female most of the time. Like, I don’t know many things about beauty. At all. I have a few friends who works in that industry that I’m constantly asking questions to. I’m almost 29 and I cannot curl my hair. I own two make up brushes (given to me by a friend) but I cannot ever remember how to use them. I only wear mascara and eye liner… Maybe. Frankly, I don’t particularly like how foundation feels on my face, so I never wear it. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll dress up from time to time and look presentable (well at least Josh thinks I am), but I don’t purchase a lot of beauty products. I don’t know what good quality for my skin – I’m extremely picky about what goes on my face. I stopped using any kind of harsh medications, soaps and lotions about three years ago and my skin has never looked better. Also, I don’t like spending a ton of money on things I rarely use. I’m hoping to find some “lazy cheap” tricks.

Book Reviews: I love reading. I am an English major after all. My dream house WILL have a library. No question about that. So what better way to find good books than by finding blogs who post book reviews?? why didn’t I think of this before??

Cooking: I might love reading, but I love cooking even more. I’ll manage to burn toast or a frozen pizza somehow, but give me a complicated twelve page recipe and I’m good to go! I love the challenge of cooking difficult meals – they are always the best, though! And they are definitely the most rewarding.

34 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Say Hello to the Neighbors

  1. “So what better way to find good books than by finding blogs who post book reviews?? why didn’t I think of this before?? ”

    Genius. I also have never thought about this!

  2. I’m here from Blogging 101 and just wanted to drop you a note that I’m following you based on this:

    Book Reviews: I love reading. I am an English major after all. My dream house WILL have a library. No question about that. So what better way to find good books than by finding blogs who post book reviews?? why didn’t I think of this before??

    Cooking: I might love reading, but I love cooking even more. I’ll manage to burn toast or a frozen pizza somehow, but give me a complicated twelve page recipe and I’m good to go! I love the challenge of cooking difficult meals – they are always the best, though! And they are definitely the most rewarding.

    I love reading and love cooking and really love discussing books and food. 🙂

  3. Very good. I love blogging. Just got back into it as well. I am giving inspiration as well as posting about things in my books, as well as shining light for others. I love helping ppl. If anyone wants to review my book, I’d be glad and grateful. God bless each one of you today! I can’t wait to learn with this group.

  4. A very nice list. I especially liked your tongue-in-cheek comment in “beauty” about how you are a “terrible female.” There is nothing wrong with not using many beauty products. I am a man, and usually couldn’t care less about that. I prefer to know women with strong personalities, as opposed to those that only care about their appearance. As the saying goes, beauty is only skin-deep.

  5. Hi Megan,
    I’m honored that you followed by humble little blog. I’m so new to this …just two weeks… every day is an adventure. I do hope you will send comments…suggestions….advise. I am still searching for my voice. You just might hear it ….. Before I do. I worked on a recipe today that had an arm’s long length of ingredients.. Sometimes there’s just not time for all the chopping and measuring. I will have to make it …according to my redo …tomorrow. Same flavors. Same texture. In 15. Sometimes that’s a tall order. At all times….It’s like being back in chemistry.
    But, I do hope following my blog can bless your love of cooking in a special way. One question….do have any experience with Southern cooks?
    As for your burned toast and pizza….I truly believe it’s just a matter of concentration. It’s a lesson in giving the same attention to the little things as you do the big (12 page) recipes.:-))
    In contrast, my best dishes come by toss and taste. No recipes…at all. … 12 pages would drive me nuts.
    Interesting…..
    Look forward to learning and growing in our work,
    Suz

  6. Thanks for sharing! I love honesty the most above all else:)
    Ya just go with what feels right to you re beauty products etc.
    looking forward to reading more from you!
    Cheers
    Audra

  7. “I don’t know what good quality for my skin – I’m extremely picky about what goes on my face”.

    The most sensitive organ of the body, is the skin. Most people abuse it. The skin will absorb most of what’s put on it. Ultimately, that is then transmitted to the other body’s organs.

    Thanks for the follow today! Nice rocks. Cheers Jamie.

  8. Hi, Megan. I’m so thankful you decided to follow me. I guess I am probably one of your newly assigned “neighbors.” However, it came to be, I’m glad. I love to learn about young people who have interests beyond games on the smart phone! But if you want me to sit with you a bit while your chat on the phone, I’m willing! I really enjoyed your light-hearted about. Light-hearted and still abounding in common sense.

Leave a comment