Welcome to #CaffeinatedOpinions

Capture

Hi! And welcome to #CaffeinatedOpinions!

For the longest time, I never really knew what direction my blog should go towards. It was all over the place. Poems, random posts, fitness… No real direction.

I’ve been told my entire life that I’m a really good listener. That I take the time to see both sides to every story. Over the last year or so, I’ve really taken to heart when people tell me this. I’ve finally started to really believe it. Now, don’t get me wrong, I am not one to really sugar coat anything. I do try and be transparent as I can without being a total monster, but also being very informative. I never ever make fun of people. I don’t actually think it’s funny when people say “um that’s common sense.” Well maybe not. Everyone has a different background. We all have so much to learn from each other.

I’ve decided to make a dedicated section of my blog for people to submit questions that they would like an opinion on. Now, let’s just get a disclaimer out there… No, I am not a doctor. I am not a trained therapist. But sometimes, we just need a second opinion on topics.

Categories to start off with, but don’t think by ANY means that you are limited to ask me what is on this list.

To submit a question, head on over to this link. Click here. You are ALWAYS welcome to remain anonymous. You have the option to tell me who you are and have me link back to your own blog; you can tell me who you are, but I don’t post any links and keep you anonymous, or you don’t even tell me who you are. Whatever you feel comfortable with!

– I love to cook. I’ve been cooking my whole life and have a few scars to prove it. I acquired some of my first scars on my knuckles from learning how to flip pancakes. I’m sort of a closet vegetarian. Since I was very little, my mom would take me to the state fair, and I could see the cows and get very upset because I thought they looked sad. I don’t remember this, but my mom told me that I refused to eat meat for months. I’ve gone through spurts of not eating any meat for months and even years, and then I’ll revert back. I currently don’t eat any meat except chicken. And I really do try and watch my dairy intake, simply to cut down on cholesterol. I have quite a few opinions on food. (Whether or not I decide to take my own advice of “stop eating so much pizza” is another story.)

– Running is life. I’ve trained for three half marathons in 2016. And right now, as of April 12, 2017, I’m in week 4 of my 8 week training for a half marathon. I definitely have some opinions about running.

– I have insomnia and restless leg syndrome. And yes, this is confirmed by a doctor and not WebMD. I went through sleep training and quite a bit of doctor appointments, so I definitely have opinions on this.

– While I might not be married, Josh and I have been together for 4 years (it was 4 years as of Feb 2017) and we have lived together for 3.5 years. So, I might not have advice on planning a wedding, but I definitely have some opinions on living with a significant other. Especially one who doesn’t share the same hobbies. I’m extroverted (for the most part) and he is very introverted.

– I am the oldest of four siblings. Me, my two sisters, and my brother is the baby. We are all roughly two years apart. I have quite a few opinions on dealing with siblings. (Don’t hate me guys. šŸ˜‰ )

– I come from a divorced family. My mom divorced my father when I was seven years old. It wasn’t the prettiest of divorces. My three younger siblings have a relationship with my father; whereas I do not. I have quite a few opinions about dealing with family, especially when everyone doesn’t quite get along.

– I’ve had friendships last for 10+ years. I’ve had friendships just stop for no reason. I’ve had friendships start while drunk in bathrooms. I’ve had to cut toxic friends out of my life. I’ve kept long distance friendships. I’ve lost touch with people who live a mile from me. I have many opinions on how to keep friendships, and what ultimately lead to never talking to someone again.

– From 2004 to 2015, I moved NINE times. Yes, 9 times. In five different cities. I have learned a lot about looking for roommates, navigating new cities, finding jobs, going to college plus having a job, leaving friends and/or family behind after moving, learning what things to let go of and what mementos to hold on to. I believe there is a fine line between true mementos and junk. I’ve also learned a hell of a lot about packing efficiently.

– I am not a Esthetician (yes i feel like I need this disclaimer often), but I swear by having a multi-step skincare routine and going for monthly facials. I have been following the Korean skincare routine religiously now for almost 3 years. I’ve half assed it for a few years as well, and I’ve been getting facials since 25. I turned 31 years old in April 2017 and people STILL think that I’m 25. I 100% thank my skincare routine. Got questions? feel free to ask!

– I have battled depression from grade school through high school. Therapist and drugs and all. I was diagnosed with PTSD after my parent’s divorce. (For those of you who do not know, my mother was a victim of domestic abuse that, as a 7 year old, I witnessed). PTSD took me a very very very long time to cope with. It greatly affected me even throughout college. I have no taken any anti-depressant medication since high school. I do have episodes from time to time. I have opinions on how to cope with a lot of this, and one of them is definitely that it is normal to ask for help.

– I’ve had a decent amount of death in my life. My grandma passed away in 2005, and my grandpa unexpectedly in 2007. I was very close with my grandparents, and even now 10+ years later, I think about them often. I’ve had a close coworker of mine die from a family member stabbing him. I’ve also lost a friend to suicide. It isn’t easy. And I’ll be the first one to admit that time really does not heal your wounds, but I’ve learned to love the scars.

Please, if anyone is reading this and is coping with suicidal thoughts, I urge you to reach out. There are people who will be there to help you every step of the way. Never ever be ashamed. You’re not alone. Confidential help is available for free.

Suicide Hotline:
1-800-273-8255

 

To submit a question, head on over to this link. Click here. I won’t really be able to filter through the comments section, so make sure you use this link to submit your questions.Thanks everyone!!

4 thoughts on “Welcome to #CaffeinatedOpinions

  1. Megan, that is some life you’ve already had for a young person. Judging by the progress on your bucket list it seems like you’re winning. One question – I’ll leave it here rather than on your Q & A section. Depression is, rightly, being more recognised and accepted as an illness. Have you found (or not) that your running helps you in this regard? Oh, and what’s your target time for your half-marathon? šŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: #BloggingFundamentals – Day Four: Identify Your Audience | Megan Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

