House Hunting

Let the grown up decisions begin!

Josh and I have been looking for houses for a while, but I’m just getting around to announcing it publicly. We wanted to get our ducks in a line before telling people. But we were approved for a home loan a few Fridays ago and now the search is on!! I’m so excited. It’s going to be an interesting journey, though. We have been addicted to watching Property Brothers. (It’s now on Netflix!! Go watch it!) Josh and I love making fun of the demands people make on the show:
“Hey, I have only $10,000 of contingency money, but we want you to somehow give us $20,000 worth of crap.” Really? It has opened my eyes up to renovating though.

I’d ideally not have to renovate anything in the house, but I know that isn’t really a feasible option. I have to learn to look at houses for what can and cannot be changed. I admit that when I look at the house, the first thing that will catch my eye is the kitchen. I want a bigger open-concept kitchen, but a lot of the homes we are looking at are quite dated. I cannot always “see the vision” when it comes to renovating. I’ve learned to look at the bones of the house instead of the features that can easily be changed. Now, if the house has radiant heating, that’s one thing. That is NOT something we are interested in trying to renovate. But if the kitchen just needs a little make-over? That’s do-able.

Neither of us have a long wish list, which is nice because we don’t disagree on much, if anything at all. We need a basement – preferable at least half finished, but if it isn’t, well it’s still fixable. you can’t really add a basement after the fact. πŸ™‚ We want at least two bedrooms and 1.5 baths – one bathroom is NOT going to cut it. And last, at least a one car garage – doesn’t matter if it’s attached or not. So, really, we have SO many options of places to look at because we aren’t being too picky. It’s almost overwhelming! Positive problem I suppose!

We went to one open house last weekend. We walked into the house, looked at each other, and immediately tried to think of an escape route. It had radiant heating, which wasn’t specified on the listing, and the walls were completely damaged because of it. (One of the many reasons we don’t want to deal with radiant heating). The kitchen was on the opposite end of the house as the dining room – very strange. The only way to get from the house to the basement was through the garage. As soon as the other family went downstairs with the Realtor, Josh and I booked it out of the house. I’m sure we weren’t the first ones to do that. πŸ™‚

This weekend our plan is to go through all the houses our Realtor gave us to go through and pick some that we want to go see and start to get moving on looking at houses. I’m so excited to be able to say that we have a house! A house! A freakin house!

5 thoughts on “House Hunting

  1. I can only imagine your plight πŸ™‚ Did that a couple of years ago, when I wanted to rent a place, and it amazing how the real estate agencies never understand in 7 attempts what you really are looking for… More so, the choice btwn and empty apartment vs a furnished one.. The empty ones were so bad and so many restrictions, finally went with a furnished apt.. Yes, cost more, but had the luxury to walk in and walk out at any time…. Happy Hunting.

  2. Congratulations! Looking for a new home and then renovating it might be stressful, but it’s so much fun. And I love the sense of achievment after all is finished. I finished renovating the flat where I live 5 years ago, but I still find joy in the way everything looks. Good luck! πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve got an old house with a newer forced air furnace. I’d kill for radiant–either old cast iron radiators or in-floor–instead of the fluctuating warm-cool-warm of forced air. How does radiant damage walls?

    • it depends how it’s set up. If it’s with coiled radiators, it doesn’t happen. But we both hate that look. I don’t want radiators around my house. But with the ones that come out of vents on the floor, it can actually burn the walls. I’ve seen it.

Leave a Reply

