The Honking Game

This morning, I decided that Starbucks was a necessity to get through my Monday morning. Hello Grande Hazelnut Latte to the rescue. Thankfully, there’s a Starbucks across the street from where I work, so I can get there and back in less than 7 minutes. As I walked out of the Starbucks, I see that I had 6 seconds left of my turn to cross the street, so I ran across while clutching onto my red cup. Seriously, those stoppers have saved burns on my hand SO many times!!

HONK! HONK!

I turned around to see that there was still a second left to cross, so I knew it wasn’t just a honk from an impatient taxi driver since the light was still red. I turned back around to walk up to work and I heard the honk again! I checked my pocket thinking that my badge fell out of my pocket. Nope. Still in my pocket. I turned around to see an older truck driver waving and smiling at my “Hi!! Hi Miss” then sped off.

Really?

Maybe because I haven’t drank of my coffee yet and slept very poorly the night before, I am slightly more irritated with this than I should be. I just don’t get it. What do you really get out of honking at someone?

-Did I drop something that you were trying to get me to see?
-Do you know me?
-Was I crossing when I should have waited?

If you answered “no” to these, then why am I getting honked at? Because you think I’m pretty? What does that do for you? Do you really think that ANY girl you honk at randomly is just going to hop on into the passenger seat and plant a wet one on you? No. No that is NOT going to happen.

I get really annoyed when my friends tell me, “well, you should take it as a compliment because they thought you were pretty.” Maybe I’m the crazy then, but honking at me is NOT a compliment. Honking is associated with rude or wrongful behavior. I honk when:

-someone cuts me off.
-someone is swerving.
-someone doesn’t go when the light turns green.
-someone is running late and still inside their house, and I want them to hurry up.
-animals are in the middle of the road and won’t move. Geese are the worst!!

How then can I associate honking at me as a compliment?

… and don’t even get me started on whistling.

End to rant of the day.

xoxo
megs

27 thoughts on “The Honking Game

  1. Hi Megan, thanks for following my blog. I totally agree – no need to honk, regardless of whether they think that you are (and you are) pretty or not!
    gfchopstix

  2. Hey Megan, thanks for following my blog. You are absolutely right. There is nothing good about getting honked at. I wouldn’t take that as a compliment either. He might have been jealous of your latte lol.

  3. Sounds like you had an interesting day. I gotta ask something though? Are starbucks coffee as good as it sounds. I ask because I’m from south africa and the closest thing for me to experiencing starbucks is in movies. So I just got to know. Is the starbucks coffee really good.

    • I might be a little biased because I used to work at Starbucks, BUT I have loved their coffee even before working there. Honestly, though, a good barista will make your coffee well no matter where you go. The little mom and pop shops are really good, to. You just need someone who knows what they are doing.

  4. I dislike honking a lot too… it’s the WORST way to get a cyclist’s attention because it is so startling.

    In 2001, I was on a cruise, and in St. Thomas, horns are used for social (!) purposes, rather than aggression.

  5. Starbucks is the real deal πŸ™‚ it is my dream to 1 day visit maybe newyork or america in general and I’m definitely going for a starbucks coffee , the work. Hey thanks for the response and you have a great blog. I just something about personal blogs slash posts πŸ™‚

  6. I’m at a age that the ‘Honking’ is because the honker is pissed with me
    Not because they think I’m pretty or cute.
    Not at the age yet thou, where they stop at all costs so as not to ‘Hit’ the old lady.
    Thanks for the ‘Follow’!!!

Leave a Reply

