To Think (Too Much)

Today’s thoughts brought to you by: The Daily Post: Verbal Communication.

To be, to have, to think, to move — which of these verbs is the one you feel most connected to? Or is there another verb that characterizes you better?

To think. Without a doubt describes me the best. In fact, I should really pick, “over-analyze.” I over-analyze EVERYTHING. For the most part, it is for my own good.

“Am I sober enough to be making this decision?”
“Is what I’m upset about really worth it?”
–> “Will this be worth being mad about by this time next year?”
“Do I NEED to purchase X, or should I really be saving money.”
“Do I really really want this tattoo?”

These are good things to think about. Things that everyone should stop and think about – especially with getting angry. Nine times out of ten times I save myself from losing friends and embarrassment due to my temper. I have learned to control that — this could be an entire new blog post!

The doen to over-analyzing: taking up too much time and energy. I spend a lot of time thinking. I have the time due to my commuting hours. Roughly 3 hours of my day. Sitting. Thinking. Going over past interactions.

“Well what if I said (this) instead?”
“Why did (name) say that? Is he/she mad? I must have said something wrong. I’m a bad friend.”
“Why didn’t (name) get back to me? They must be ignoring me. I should call them out on it. He/she can be all over FB but not text me back? Really?”
“Seriously, why did I pick these nail polish colors? Can you even see my design? It probably looks dumb anyway – I can’t match colors well. Why do I spend so much time picking out polish and carefully painting them only to hate it two days later?”

Conversations replay in my head. Over and over and over. I try distracting myself from these intrusive thoughts by memorizing song lyrics to my favorite artists.

See, you all knew there was a reason that I know so many song lyrics to bust out at random times!

I should be able to refocus my thoughts to writing more blog posts, reading the books I have on my list, or learning to knit like I said I would.

I’m even thinking too much about this blog post…

6 thoughts on “To Think (Too Much)

  1. Pingback: Verbal Confirmation | Blogged With Words

Leave a Reply

