I am the master of my fate; I am the captain of my soul

I love productive days. They make me feel accomplished, even if the tasks are so miniscule, like going to the DMV to get a duplicate driver’s license (because my drunk ass lost it almost two months ago, and I have been using a passport to get into the bars) and taking my car through emissions. I might be the biggest procrastinator in the entire world, but, when it comes down to crunch time, I always get things done on time. It might not be the way someone else intended for it to be done, but it’s the ending result that should matter, right? I could be wrong. It’s been known to happen from time to time. Not often. Just sometimes. Rarely. If ever at all.

(Oh come on, I’m joking! I’m wrong a lot and will be the first to admit it!)

And now you’re smiling. #missionaccomplished. And if you aren’t smiling, well, go read someone else’s blog then. 😉

But really…

Sometimes I need to sit down appreciate the smaller things in life: Instead of complaining that I needed to take my car through emissions, I should just be happy that I HAVE a car to take through emissions. Instead of getting annoyed that I need to wait at the DMV to get a license and watch crazy people, I should be grateful that I have the freedom to drive and the gift of sight. Instead of grumbling about my job, I should be thankful I’m not unemployed.

My life isn’t perfect, nor would I want it to be. Every flaw has its purpose. And every obstacle that comes my way only makes me a stronger person: a person who might not know what she wants out of life, but she continuously gets a new perspective. “I am the master of my fate; I am the captain of my soul” and no one can stand in my way. I’m the only one responsible for my own happiness. If I choose to go through life complaining and grumbling about everything that goes wrong, then it is my own damn fault if I am unhappy. I’ve got a hold on the reigns of my fate and I’m ready to steer myself into the right direction. Hopefully I won’t steer myself into some unknown oblivion. But if I do, I promise to ask for directions.

 

5 thoughts on “I am the master of my fate; I am the captain of my soul

  1. “My life isn’t perfect, nor would I want it to be. Every flaw has its purpose. And every obstacle that comes my way only makes me a stronger person: a person who might not know what she wants out of life, but she continuously gets a new perspective” Couldn’t agree more with that line. If everything was perfect all the time how would ever enjoy the moments when they truly are? You need those bad days to see the good ones for what they are. There are worse things than being flawed, not knowing you are, for example. Great post.

  2. “I am the captain of my fate. I am the master of my soul”. Where I ended up in life before death is my own doing. If I ended up a failure, I have no one to blame but myself. If I chose to be miserable, then that’s the consequence I must accept. No one is in control of my life but me and me alone. There is much deeper meaning to life than what most people realize. It is sublime, holistic, extraordinarily beautiful when one discover the way to truth and happiness far beyond man’s wildest imagination. Control your fate, command your soul, and every thing you see in this world gets brighter and meaningful.

Leave a Reply

